Marionettes: The Dragon King

February 1, 2021

Presenters

Tanglewood Marionettes

Founded in 1993, Tanglewood Marionettes is a nationally touring marionette theater based in New England. Large, beautifully hand-crafted marionettes, colorful sets, and integrated lighting and sound create a fully immersive theatrical experience.

What To Expect

“The Dragon King” is an original creation of Tanglewood Marionettes. It took them over a year and a half to build, not to mention the research that went into it before and during.

The scenery for this play is in the form of a giant scroll. Because the story of The Dragon King takes place in ancient China, the team looked at traditional Chinese paintings for inspiration on how to paint the scroll. The scroll is made of one continuous piece of canvas that is four feet wide and about sixty feet long! See if your students can detect the scene changes.
The Puppets
The human characters in The Dragon King are traditional marionettes all made by hand by the Tanglewood crew. In addition to the marionettes, there are also several rod puppets in this show. A rod puppet is a puppet whose movement is controlled by sticks, or “rods”. There are also a few puppets in the show that are controlled by using both strings and rods. Knowing these things see if you can tell which puppets are which.

Resources
The Study Guide includes Further Reading suggestions for students and teachers. It also includes a Language Arts section with suggested writing exercises. With the Chinese New Year beginning February 12 this year, these resources and this production can tie in nicely. There will be a Q&A chat as well so your student will learn much about puppets and puppetry.

Recommended Audience
This course will probably be enjoyed most by students in grades 3-8. Like many of our programs, however, we know that older students and adults of all ages will enjoy both the performance and the educational aspect of this presentation.

January Special
Guests pay the Members price when registering by January 25, 2021!

Other Streams

This Stream's Info

Eastern:
12:00 PM – 1:30 PM [-5 UTC]
Central:
11:00 AM – 12:30 PM [-6 UTC]
Mountain:
10:00 AM – 11:30 AM [-7 UTC]
Pacific:
9:00 AM – 10:30 AM [-8 UTC]
Alaska:
8:00 AM – 9:30 AM [-9 UTC]
Hawaii:
7:00 AM – 8:30 AM [-10 UTC]
Ending time is approximate, based on Q&A at the end.


No software to download
Unlike some streaming services, our Learning Stream Platform requires no software to download or install. Simply use your favorite browser. Tablets and mobile phones are also supported.

Collateral Materials
Attendees may download the free Study Guides which includes a wide assortment of information for further study.

Recorded or Live?
This is a combination Pre-Recorded plus Live Session, with Q&A at the end.

Rewatch
Don’t worry if something comes up and you are unable to attend the Learning Stream presentation in part or in whole:
You may rewatch this Learning Stream presentation up to 48 hours after it has ended.

Cost:
Members: $10
Guests: $20